Sometimes I’m shocked…

First of all, my sweet husband read about a way to help me write everyday. Write, not edit. Whether it is writing in my novels – all of them – or in my blog. I just need to write every day. The trick? Getting a calendar and marking every day with an “X” when I write. The goal is to never break the chain.

Yesterday, on his way home from band practice, he went and bought a classy calendar for me and we have it up now. πŸ™‚ Yesterday I marked off a day because I started my blog. Today, I finally found what to write about so that I could mark another day off.

And this is where my “tale” of how “sometimes I’m shocked” comes in.

After celebrating the Packers victory of the NFC Championship and cleaned up the house, I sat down with my computer, popped on the headphones and some music, and searched my mind for an inspiration. I looked through my documents, hoping to find some story that interested me for tonight. I first checked the novel I am supposed to be working on, but could not find the right spot to begin writing, instead of editing. I checked my NaNoWriMo novel, which I knew needed desperate help, but had no interest in it.

Finally, I was reminded of an idea I had when I was watching Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader for the second time. I pulled up my document that held the genealogy for my novel (the one I am supposed to be working on), and searched for the right man for this idea I had.

(For those of you who do not know, the novel I am – supposedly – working on is part of a series. I have two thick novels currently being edited and added to, and – so far – four other novels waiting to be written beyond 13 pages or less. *grin*)

After finding nothing that suited me, I decided to open a new document and just begin to type. Perhaps something will come up. Within the first few words I had decided the man I was going to throw my idea upon and continued writing. It turned out that what I was writing should be for the beginning of a novel. Easy enough for me to work with… I copied and then pasted onto an existing document.

Brilliant, I thought. I did not start a new story, I merely made an original story more interesting by adding this man to it. Now my head is exploding with ideas. What could I write next? How do I want this story to unfold? What type of disasters can I torture these pitiful characters with?

Oh, the mind of a writer! We are so sick!!

But my “brilliance” was not over. In the document where I had the genealogies listed I had also written (years ago) the titles to each main character. I didn’t read the last part of the title of this man I was writing first person through.

To make this more understandable, this man is a lord, and I am telling the story, the beginning of all my stories in this one book, through his eyes. I figured that was brilliant enough. However, as I wrapped up my little “prelude” to the upcoming novel, I wanted to give his full name and title. So I copied…

*gasp* *eyes wide* *a thrill of excitement*

The last part to this man’s title is “scribe”. Scribe?? But that is exactly what he should be!! I was mere moments behind getting the idea that he should be a scribe, and I see that I had decided, years back, that he already was a scribe!

And this is what inspires me to continue on in full force. The joy of discovering new ideas, the adrenaline of feeling brilliant, the immediate transport into a new world ofΒ  your own creation, and the shock that comes when you discover that someone else had the same idea… you.

God certainly has ways to remind me that He gave me these talents.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes I’m shocked…

  1. Cami – I’m so glad to get a glimpse inside the mind of that writer that Mom and I cherish so much. I await eagerly your next post.

    • πŸ™‚ And I am so glad that you’re going to be reading my blog!! I love my parents! And my husband – he reads, too. πŸ˜€ My family is awesome!

  2. Haha…that was a good read. πŸ™‚ Cool how you surprised, yet confirmed, yourself!
    Just a thought… add a photo of this aforesaid ‘classy calendar’? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

