Raindrops

When I woke up this morning I felt like it was just another day. I got ready to head out to volunteer and frowned at the pouring rain. Oh, how I wished I could stay home and have some alone time, with God and then with housework. I dreaded spending four hours in the ED and then eating hospital food as I waited for the volunteer meeting after lunch. All I wanted was to go home and be alone with the dreary rain.

For me, dreary rain is not something I detest. I actually love it when the weather turns gray and the rain pours from the fast moving clouds. I especially love it when it’s warm out. When it rains, like it did today, I feel a connection with my writer’s side. It sounds silly, or even “touchy-feely”. But I always feel more creative and full of potential when that rain begins to pour on a warm, dreary day.

So, there I sat. Eating my hospital tasting steak and potatoes, staring out the many large windows. I overlooked the parking lot and road leading up to the front entrance. I watched the people walk to and from their cars. I sighed and looked at the landscaping immediately in front of the windows. There was a small pool for carp and brick paths curving around it and the flowerbeds.

I wasn’t happy. I had an hour to eat, and I had forgotten to bring paper, a book, or sudoku with me to do while I waited. I decided to observe the people who walked by outside but found that the garden in front of me was more interesting.

Strange, I thought. I am not someone who prefers gardens.

But I was drawn to it. With Spring practically here there were yellow flowers that were nearing full bloom. Do not ask me what kind of flowers, for I do not know. They were yellow, though.

They struck a chord with me, however. I stared at them, drawn by their simplistic beauty, their God-given perfect color. What real color they were! What peaceful purpose for God’s earth! What added, humbling beauty it was that on each flower there were countless drops of rain. It was like adding a necklace to a pure, silk neck, only purer and natural.

I sat there dumbstruck. A part of me could not believe the beauty my eyes were only drawn to, and the other part of me could not believe that for once I was enjoying a simple blessing, a blessing that is natural to the earth. There was something about the gray clouds, the warm weather, the rain, and the flowers that made me feel at peace.

I felt happy.

And subsequently, I came home and went about my day as if I had renewed energy. Yes, I was still tired from all that has happened in the past weeks, but I felt that through observing those flowers God had given me a new outlook on my life. A reminder that God cares about the smallest of things, that He created beauty in everything around us, in everything we see and in everything we do. It’s up to us to allow our eyes to be opened to see what He wants to teach us by the “lilies of the field”.

“And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin: and yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.” Matthew 6:27-29

2 thoughts on “Raindrops

  1. I wonder if those yellow flowers were daffodils… my favorite. 🙂
    It’s neat to hear that you were so happy…so content and focused on what God had placed before you on that particular day and moment. With all the hustle and bustle of our daily lives most of the time we miss these creations that God, our Father, has placed all around us.
    Nice post, Cami. I enjoyed it.

  2. Yes! They are daffodils! 🙂

    It IS very easy to miss those simple creations. My mind has been so busy I am trying to slow down and enjoy everything around me. Tough to do, but I’m sure it will be worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

