Please help! NaNoWriMo 2011

OK everyone, NaNoWriMo is just around the corner! Soon I will be buried under school and writing, but it will be worth it.

What is NaNoWriMo you might ask? Here is a quick link to my profile page: http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/user/513073

Yes, I am Green Lizard. πŸ™‚

Basically, NaNoWriMo challenges you to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Sound crazy? You bet! This will be my third year accepting this challenge and I know I will struggle more than I did last year. Why?

I need help!!

My first year I sat down and just started writing whatever came to mind. It plummeted me into a twisting plotline that I couldn’t keep up with. I was not able to complete the challenge. Last year I decided to go off of two ideas that I had for a few years and put them together to meet the 50,00o words. I was a winner!

This year, though, I have absolutely no idea what to do. Because I will be working on college during this challenge, I will have less free time to write. I have chosen my genre; a medieval/fiction book should be easy for me. But what plot do I have? Storyline? Subplots? Characters?? I have no inspiration.

So, since I have about a month to get at least an idea of what to write, I was wondering if I could have some help. Perhaps you have a crazy plot you want written (or that I can attempt to write), or a subplot or two that sound interesting. Maybe you have a character I could bring to life, or a name of one I could put into the story. The genre is medieval/fiction/fanstasy, but I don’t care what you throw at me. Well, just as long as it can go with the time period at least a little bit. Whatever you have, though, I want to hear about it!

I can’t guarantee that the story will be any good. Good heavens, I will need to throw aside the inner editor, the rules and regulations of writing, and all good sense to get this done! But it will be so worth the efforts in the end. To reach 50,000 words is a reason to celebrate and declare that you will never write another word again – until you wake up the next morning. πŸ˜‰

Again, whatever ideas you have for me, comment here on my blog. I would love to hear what you all have for me!

7 thoughts on “Please help! NaNoWriMo 2011

  1. Well, I am not an expert in Medieval times, but I am pretty certain they had chickens!! So including some sort of story line with chickens in it would be a good idea… maybe if it is fantasy the chickens can be the ‘heroes’ of the day! YAY! Or I suppose you could make them the villains… 😦

    Just including chickens in your story will make it delightful!! A Grandma with her chickens?? Chicken soup delivered on the battle field?? You get the idea…

    In any case, once you get off the roost and let your imagination run, scratch out some plots, perhaps brood a bit, you may come up with a very interesting story… something you just may crow about! πŸ˜€

  2. Chickens…. I should have known. However, you HAVE given me an idea. πŸ˜‰

    You also remind me of your saying, “If there’s chickens in the movie, then it must be a good movie.”

  3. Bummer… you will just have to keep us informed using this blog! πŸ™‚ Don’t leave us wondering how you are doing and what actions you are taking to survive! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

