Plots, Outlines, and Character Sketches 2011

According to the official NaNoWriMo website, we have 18 days and 17 hours away from the start of this wonderful time of the year. A few days ago I was inspired with a few scenes to write and small sketches for two characters. Now that I have some sort of base to start from, the plot and outline is next.

While I was browsing the relaunched NaNo website, I found some forums in the region I “registered” in. There will be a write-in this Saturday in Newport News where some of the NaNo writers in this area will gather and work out their plot and outlines, and anything else related to their upcoming story without actually writing anything in the novel itself. A challenge, since I prefer to write on the fly without an outline. πŸ™‚

However, I am really looking forward to going to this write-in. Not only will I be able to work out some things in my novel, but I will also meet new writers and be able to form a little support with these fellow crazy people.

One thing, however, that I would still like to seek help on are character sketches. Well, and any crazy ideas you might have for the story. Is there someone you know or have known that had a particular quirk? A habit? It can be the smallest thing, but if it stuck in your mind about this person, then it tells a lot about who they are.

My story will be Medieval/Fantasy and anything that could go along with the genres. Or maybe a character could be mentally connected to someone else who lives in a different century – galaxy. Whatever you have for me, I’ll take. πŸ™‚

I can’t wait for NaNoWriMo to start. November is just around the corner – where had the year gone??

As I embark on this writing frenzy once again I will need support. My fourth class is starting up next week and it’s accelerated to an 8 week course. My English class is finally picking up and there will be papers to write. I don’t know how much typing my fingers can handle, or how long my eyes can stare at a computer screen!

This month-long event means a lot to me and I hope that I will be able to say that I won – second in a row!

2 thoughts on “Plots, Outlines, and Character Sketches 2011

  1. I don’t have any ideas for you, but I must say you are making me want to do this NaNoWriMo challenge!! Haha!
    Sounds exciting, Cami. YOU really do sound excited and I will support you in this! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

