One more day…

Tomorrow is the day NaNoWriMo begins. I have been plotting, character sketching, and outlining a lot these past few weekends and I am so anxious to start writing! I can’t wait for my story to unfold and the characters to come alive. This challenge, added to the added craziness of school, is a tough one. Yet I intend to win this year, just like last year. It will require a lot of time-management but it is doable.

I would never before admit that outlines are good. I hated them in the past but now they look like they are going to be my life savers. I have about 20 chapters outlined with a few plots and subplots, as well as random prompts lovingly given to me by fellow NaNo’s. My plan is simply to get as much writing done as I can, to get ahead of the word counts, so that if I have to miss a day of writing 1,667 words it won’t affect my average that much. My outline should help with that.

My husband has already offered to help me out. His support means the world to me. I am blessed to have a husband, my best friend, understand that this is my passion and who pushes me to make room in my schedule for this writing challenge.

I will honestly admit that I am feeling stressed. Last week was the beginning of my Psychology class and it marked the start of a full-time student. I don’t know how I am going to get through November, but I am confident that I will.

On that note, I am officially registered for Spring semester. I am taking classes that don’t particularly interest me, but they need to be done. English 112, Math 04, Principles of Public Speaking, and a health class that teaches about nutrition are next. There are no accelerated classes next year (*whew!*) and all four take place in the morning. My classes start no earlier than 8 and end no later than 11. I have afternoons and Fridays off, which, I think will be a much better schedule than the one I have now.

Right now, and at least for all of November, school and writing will be my life. I will try to blog about my progress. I just need to stay on top of homework as well as reach my word counts.

Until next time – I will be drowning in deadlines, papers, exams, and writing!

2 thoughts on “One more day…

  1. How exciting Cams!! I bet you are just chomping at the bit to get started. What a fantastic group of fellow NaNo’s! I am sure the mutual support will encourage you and keep you going. Having an outline, character sketches, plots and subplots ready to go just may be the key, eh?
    Yes, it certainly sounds like a hefty schedule. It will help knowing you have people close to you, ahem, like us, but especially your husband understanding this passion of yours and pushing you to keep at it, to find time, when you think you can’t. πŸ™‚
    Let the writing begin!! Well, at least wait until midnight tonight EST. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

