It’s the beginning of a New Year…

Whew! What an ending to 2011! I have a lot of thoughts for the year past and for the year present (and, if I allow myself, the year future) but I am going to try to keep this post a normal length. Hopefully it will encourage me to post more in later days.

So, 2011. For one, I never like the number 11… that being said, it was a great year! A few highlights: Packers won the Superbowl (and will they again this year???), spent time volunteering, parents visiting, my niece’s first birthday, SAN DIEGO!!, college, NaNoWriMo write-ins, and a trip back to Wisconsin for the Christmas holiday (can you tell which highlight was the best? 😉 ).

Looking back on 2011 I can say that God has brought me through many little lessons. I know I’ve grown so much in character – wonder what He will bring my way this year?

And looking ahead to 2012 is not as daunting as I think it was in January of 2011. I feel like I have a great sense of what it is that I am supposed to be doing right now, this season, and this year. Adam and I have plans about our house and about our education.

My second college semester will be starting next week, and another 16 weeks of studying and attending classes will ensue. It’s exciting to think that I will have a good first year under my belt. I’m very happy to say that I have a great GPA – 4.0!

My writing is still continuing forward, which is so exciting! Meeting up for write-ins was amazing for my writing and I am thrilled that we’re going to continue throughout the “off-season”. I intend to edit the story I wrote for possible publication – now isn’t that something to look forward to this year?? Also, I have already added a few more thousand words to my wordcount after NaNo ended. God is certainly blessing my writing!

Plans for our house is a huge subject. Right now we will focus on finishing the spare bedroom. After that, the downstairs bathroom is next to be remodeled. We have great ideas for that bathroom! Like I told Adam, I want people to be happy while they take care of their personal business in the bathroom….

Now what about those New Year’s Resolutions? Frankly, I never cared for them. They are a bit of a nuisance to think up and then implement. Last year my resolution was to write at least once every day. Well, that failed. This year I am just going to say that I hope I will continue to grow to be a better person as a child of God, a wife, a friend, a daughter, a sister, etc. and be an encouragement to those around me.

My prayer for 2012 is that I may cultivate my relationship with my God and rely on His plan for my life instead of my own. However, shouldn’t that be our prayer all the time?

Signing off now… maybe this week I will get back on and post about Christmas this year – it was certainly a wonderful time spent with family!

Leave a Reply

