Am I truly ready??

Yesterday, Adam and I found out that we are having a little boy! After much anticipation and excitement on my part (so much so that I was unable to get other things done), the news had left me exhausted for the rest of the day. And then, to let everything sink in!

A part of me was constantly thinking I was having a girl, and every time I thought of the baby I thought of a baby girl. Realizing that the baby is a boy has pretty much thrown my brain into confusion. You have a different mindset when you’re a mother of a boy instead of a girl. Things just simply change.

My friend had sent me a text basically saying to bring on the blues, cars, trains, trucks, and tools. When I read that, it suddenly struck me that I was indeed having a boy. I sent a text back asking, “Am I truly ready??”

That stuck in my head for a while yesterday. Am I ready? It’s one thing to know you’re having a baby, but another when you actually find out the sex of the child. Now we can start focusing more on the baby’s room and we can narrow down on a name. There’s more finality to it, for us.

No pink dolls. No pink tea sets. No pretty pink princess dresses. Instead, it’s mud. Trucks. Tools. Wrestling. With a boy, it’s rough playing. With a girl, it’s being a bit more gentle.

Yet, that’s what I know. I grew up with two older brothers and learned how to play with them. I regularly babysat my two cousins, both boys, and I know they had a blast every time. And last, but definitely not least, I took care of my nephew from 3 months to 2 1/2 years.

So, am I truly ready? Perhaps this is good. With a little more experience for taking care of boys, I am more ready than I know to take care of my own.

Having a baby is overwhelming. No matter how much experience one has with kids, the moment you have your own you start to worry. I know I can do this, and I know we will be good parents. Letting it all settle in, though, takes time. And God gave us exactly 9 months to let it sink in! Well, now I’m halfway there….

2 thoughts on “Am I truly ready??

  1. I don’t think anyone is ever truly ready. You can’t be since you don’t know what the future holds. But you certainly can try to plan and prepare keeping in mind that God won’t give you anything you cannot handle as long as you remain in Him.

    You guys will be good parents. You will do the best you know how at that moment of need. Doubts will roll around in your mind from time to time. Corrections and adjustments will be made. A few regrets perhaps, but tons of fun, love, and joy will prevail. 🙂

  2. The nice thing about it, Cami, is that you have time to work your way into the mud, trucks and balls. Remember, a baby is a baby whether boy or girl…they are equally sweet and endearing! Whether boy or girl, the first year of babyhood is sweet smiles, coos and giggles. The only difference between boy and girl is the color of outfit, and the amount of caution you use when changing the diaper! be careful with those boys….but you would know that.
    YOu will be wonderful. Parenting is no different than the rest of our lives. God prepares us for the next step. We don’t need to be prepared for 10 steps or 10 years in the future today, just for the next step. And you are ready for the next step, because God is faithful.
    Bless you guys.

Leave a Reply

