Day 7: Behind!

Yesterday, frankly, I fell behind. And no, it wasn’t because I was absorbed in watching the presidential election. I had errands to run, and I had to vote. (I won’t get into any political discussion here, except to state that I am proud to exercise my right to vote — even when it feels like my vote doesn’t count. Ah well. Back to the life that I have control over, or at least believe I do!)

Falling behind in word count means that there’s double duty to do today. I would love to be at a point where I can afford to skip a day — last year I had those in abundance. This year is difficult. My characters like to talk, and for those who know dialogue, that doesn’t really give you good word count unless they talk on and on and on. Descriptions can go only so far. I’ve described pretty much every character, though not at all in the Charles Dickens fashion. That would certainly help my word count, but it would probably end up boring me.

Today, I am supposed to reach 11,666 words, and I am currently at 8,514. I have 3,152 words to write in order to catch up. Should I make my goal 4,000 words, just for kicks?

Speaking of “just for kicks”, I am not accustomed to writing modern fiction. My genre is fantasy (yes, this story will turn fantastical, but it’s still with modern people) and I prefer medieval. I can capture so much more in medieval fantasy than I can in any genre. Modern fiction means I have to give last names to my characters, and actually decide how to address them. I can shorten Edward to Ed and be just fine with it. If it were medieval, I could say Sir Edward, just to squeeze that extra word in for the count. But, alas, I am writing modern fiction. And I’m throwing plenty of rules out the window. For example, “just for kicks” is a cliché, and I use MANY in my story. A huge no-no during my writing class. What good will it do future readers to read cliché’s? They will have no idea what I am talking about. But I’m not writing for future generations. And if I were, I can go back after November to edit.

So, today I am going to try to get some more word count in. I am feeling pretty tired and exhausted (only four more weeks till dramatic life change!), but I have huge support from my husband. I am amazed at his support — one might think there are more important things to life than NaNoWriMo, but he sees it as a challenge that I must do every year. We match in how important we see my writing, and THAT is something to feel extremely blessed about!

Ok, enough of the blabbing. Nearing 500 words in this blog post. Not quite the right venue to get word count!

Leave a Reply

