Yes, Believe It. Two Months!

Tomorrow, February 10th, marks Michael being two months old. Hard to believe. But yes, believe it.

It seems that suddenly he is bursting with new things. The books say (as in my Human Development textbook for my class) that by two months, your baby might be smiling or laughing. Interesting, since Michael started smiling at one month.

Ok, I don’t want to start bragging. Wow, it can be so easy to start bragging about your kid! In all seriousness, kids develop and grow at different times. Michael is “behind” in some, “ahead” in others. But it’s the job of the mother, apparently, to brag and to worry. If it isn’t one, it’s the other. So, I’m going to try to not brag in this post but still give an update on my little boy. Can I do it? We shall see!

According to the scale we purchased this week, Michael is around 13 lbs. I can’t give a good idea on how much he eats because he keeps changing that up. As for sleeping, while Adam was on leave he slept like a champ. Since it’s just been me and Michael, he’s been changing his schedules. There are multiple theories to this that my mom and I talked about, and each could be very likely. I personally think we had a bit of a too busy week for the little guy, and I believe he’s on a textbook growth spurt now. Before, I really could not tell if he was on a growth spurt. He ate a lot, but for a few weeks rather than a few days. He then would drop almost half for a few days, and then get back to eating more and more until he was back up. So confusing. But today, he’s been getting up more often to eat. His nap times are a bit shorter, and especially this afternoon. He took an hour nap — very unusual for him.

Anyway, apart from being confusing, he is way too adorable. These last few weeks he’s been more aware of what’s been going on around him, and it seems like just lately he’s taken a jump on interaction. I have been playing little games with him, trying to encourage his interactions. He would briefly pay attention, but always be looking around at other things. But lately, and especially today, he truly enjoyed the little games. He loves This Little Piggy, Patty Cake, Itsy Bitsy Spider, Peek-a-boo, and my own fun with the songs Tradition and If I Were A Rich Man from Fiddler On The Roof. His smiles absolutely melt my heart. His dimples — yes, both now! — show up on his cute chubby cheeks. And today I heard twice something that sounded like he was so close to letting out a little giggle. Oh my, I can’t wait!

He doesn’t like tummy time. The poor boy starts to cry. Not the angry cry, upset cry, screaming, screeching, or the protesting cry. It’s the pure sad cry and it is so cute. He’s fine laying on his tummy on me, but not on the floor!

He’s still really good at going to sleep for naps and bedtime. He has started screeching, but it’s once or twice before he settles down to protesting. I think he’s really finding his voice now.

As for me, things are so much better. Two months make a huge difference, and the struggles I went through are now becoming a distant memory. Which actually scares me a bit because I’m forgetting the unpleasantness of giving birth. That’s probably why many couples have more than one child! Granted, I’m not saying I’m ready for another one, nor am I saying there will be another one. I’m just pointing out that I am no longer “traumatized” about it!

Anyway, there’s my little update. I can’t believe that Michael is two months old. Wow.

Leave a Reply

