NaNo 2013 — And That Thing Called Life

Life just keeps coming up! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve opened my WordPress blog and started typing, only to find that the right words weren’t there. There has been so many challenges this year and coming up that it’s difficult to sit down and blog again. Today I have a bit of a focus, so hopefully it will help me get back into it.

I want to talk mostly about NaNoWriMo because, once again, it’s just around the corner! I am so excited for this year — I think I get more excited as each year passes. I have a plot (ish), and some characters, so I’m ready to jump in.

But first, a little catch up. I can’t even remember the last time I actually published a post, but I do know that it’s been awhile. Being a mom is hard work. Michael is such a cutie, though, that it’s hard to be frustrated for too long (I know that he will soon learn to take advantage of that). Over the last few months I’ve been working through some Postpartum Depression and major depression — always adjusting the medication, going to counseling, and trying to take advantage of all my resources and help. That in itself has been a tough road to walk, and maybe sometime in the future I’ll write about it, but right now, again, life has come up!

About a month ago we found out that we’re transferring to San Diego early next year. I don’t have to tell you just how much of a whirlwind that puts us in, and oftentimes I feel like saying: “There’s a storm coming, Mr. Wayne”. Granted, that storm is not meant for batman but for us, the Ross’. As my husband described it, we’re at the top of a hill with a boulder, and soon that boulder is going to start rolling and we need to do all we can to keep up with it. Yikes. On the other hand, a friend has told me many times that moving isn’t that big of a deal (she’s moved many times before), and that I need to keep looking at the positives and stop freaking out.

And with that, I return to NaNoWriMo 2013.

One of the best ways to deal with change is to continue working in our established routine. The more routine-based we are, the less stress we, potentially, will feel. My routine every Autumn is to partake in this wonderful thing called NaNoWriMo. I had to quit my fall classes at college this year, so in the meantime I am challenging myself with writing and being a mommy.

Now, some may wonder why I still do NaNo. The reason is pretty basic: Writing is important to me. The more I write, the less turmoil and confusion I feel. I can talk till I’m blue in the face, but I won’t be able to convey the true me, the true human nature, the true overall life, unless I can write. In some ways it is my way of escaping, as well, but more in the sense of finding out my true self instead of blanking out to a show or movie, wishing I was something I’m not. Who am I really, beneath all the smiles, the tears, the masks, and the stereotypes? Another reason why writing is important to me is the honing of one’s craft. I don’t do NaNoWriMo because I want to finish a story (ok, partially true) but because I need the challenge to write without editing, to silence the inner critic, and to explore other genres with which I am unfamiliar or uncomfortable with. My writing doesn’t compliment NaNo, but NaNo compliments my writing. I write all year round, I plan all year round. I do look forward to that month of abandoning previous works to just focus on something brand new, but then it gives me more perspective for the stories I am carefully building.

This year my NaNo will be a challenge, but not as much of a challenge as last year’s. Last year I tried a mystery, set in modern times, both of which I am horrible at writing. This year I’m taking on one specific challenge, romance, and a lesser challenge of post-apocalyptic earth. It’s still in the realm of sci-fi, so I’m good there! I am still trying to avoid my most comfortable genre, Medieval Fantasy.

Want a synopsis of the upcoming challenge? Well, here it is!

The great war ended 90 years ago. Echo, a mind-controlled artifact, had been hijacked by enemy extremists, causing worldwide desolation. Those who survived the onslaught were able to put a few thousand loyalists into hibernation until the world would be safe enough to live on again. These survivors became the Watchers.

The Watchers have not been a major concern for the enemy since their atmosphere could not recover unless they gained control of the Echo. With few numbers they were not a threat.

As the years passed, the Watchers discovered that they couldn’t keep the bodies in hibernation indefinitely. A search began to find a new mind to control the Echo and restore the world before losing more people.

I don’t have a name yet for the enemy, but that is being worked on. Hope to post again soon with more NaNo news!

Leave a Reply

