An End Is A New Beginning

If there is one thing that I have learned at the end of NaNoWriMo, it is that my writing quality and voice has become difficult. I have not been writing as much as I used to, and just as importantly I have not been reading as many books as I once did. It’s difficult to focus on a book, for me, because when I have down time I am more interested in getting other things done, or sleep. As for writing, it isn’t as much of a priority as it once was.

But there is hope. As I look back on my writing and feel the accomplishment of 50,456 words, I realize that there is so much more I can do with the story that’s always been in my head. Yes, I will run through and give The Echo a quick edit, just to make me feel better when I order a proof to hold onto. But this time I want to focus on the story that has captured my heart, made my emotions pulse, and opened my eyes to a whole new world.

It’s time to get down to business.

So, what is it that I need to do? Here I will make a list, and hopefully I can adhere to it well. Also, much of this can be used for anything you want to do. It doesn’t have to be writing.

  1. When a new idea for a story pops in my head, write it down in the little pocket full of notecards that I bought specifically for that purpose. (Yes, I know. Shameful.)
  2. Set a reasonable and easily attainable goal for writing Konstantine’s story. 15 minutes a day? 100-200 words? (And really, writing 100-200 words isn’t that hard. This entire post is at 521 words.)
  3. Edit one scene a week from The Echo. There are 34 scenes, and a good portion of them are short enough to do two scenes a week. That will get me to June just fine to (hopefully) get that free proof copy. I’m not holding my breath, though.
  4. Write every day. I know this is similar to number 2, but it’s important to make this point. Without writing every day, my writing voice should not be able to fluctuate as often, and as a result I will be able to grow a strong and familiar voice.
  5. Set up prizes. Oh, this could very well be my favorite, and I could have way to much fun with this. I could purchase something that I like, a treat, perhaps, or figure out something I love doing (sleep?), and every time I reach my daily goal, or weekly, I give myself that prize. It doesn’t have to expensive, just worthy of being reached.
  6. Use www.e.ggtimer.com to set your goals. This can be used for writing, for cleaning, for crafting, for anything I choose to do with my free time. It’s amazing. And the buzzer freaks me out if I have it too loud and forget about it.

So that’s my list, so far. Any ideas on what to add?

Leave a Reply

